top of page

Logan Paul Part I


Logan Paul's channel Logan Paul Vlogs has gained a lot of success and backlash while on YouTube since he joined in August 2015. Logan Paul's success followed him from the old app: Vine. Vine was an application which allowed individuals to take at least six second videos. Many of Logan's video are very spastic and from my personal opinion is made for a much younger and more immature audience.

Logan, age 22, has been making videos for about 4-5 years now. Since Vine shutdown, many vine stars made their transitions to many different applications. Logan and his brother Jake Paul chose YouTube. Now, these brothers although they do a lot of, in my personal opinion, stupid things, but the way they make videos are genius.

The brothers act as though they are in a way enemies or rivals. Logan and his group (Logang) are rivals against Jake and his group (Jake Paulers). Logan will make a video about Jake and then Jake will make a video about his response and that he is going to make a similar video Logan. Both brothers have different channels so in order to understand a lot of the context in Logans videos you have to watch both Logan and Jake's videos. So you have to go back and forth between channels which means: MORE VIEWS!!!

Logan, I believe, is able to connect with his audience because he is wild, spastic, and does not act his age. To me it's like giving a junior high student a ridiculous some of money and then telling them to do whatever they want. Don't get me wrong, I used to like when he was on Vine, but I think I know the difference.

I believe that he had to limit himself with Vine. Since you only had six seconds to work with in Vine he had to control himself more and figure it out well in advance. Now that he's transitioned his style more towards YouTube he's started to vlog. With vlogging he can make his videos as long as he wants and actually speaks his mind. This is a big deal. You didn't know who he was in Vine, you didn't have enough time to know, and that's what hurts my view of him.

Now, you've all probably heard a lot about controversies recently involving him going off the trail of the suicide forest in Japan, finding a dead body (and laughing at it), and also tasering dead rats. That mess is another thing I would like to talk about in my part two of Logan Paul.

So far I think that people are still trying to understand Logan Paul. When he does a lot of emotional videos it seems to be almost in my personal opinion a way to trick viewers into thinking he actually cares.

Anyway I'll cover more in my part II version coming soon!

bottom of page