top of page

How to be Successful on YouTube (Part III)

Knowing your audience can be one of the most important things if you want a successful YouTube channel.

Ask yourself: How would I describe myself? Am I introverted or extroverted? Do I connect with younger people, my peers, or those older than me? Am I genuine? What kind of channel am I looking to create? Why am I doing this? Is this just for me?

These are just a few questions that you should start out with. Once you know the answers to these questions you can start looking at how you want to set up your channel. Finding out who you are is very important when you trying to find the connection you want with your audience.

From what I see, many younger individuals want someone who fits these categories: loves to be immature (not always a bad thing when it comes to YouTube, but know when to be serious (*cough* Logan Paul *cough*), energetic, spastic, understanding, and caring. If you want to be close to a younger audience you need to reflect on how you were at that age, and what you may have struggled with. '

When it comes to looking at someone who is in college again think about how you were at their age. What did you want when you were their age? If they are your peer what do you want to see when you meet someone? Is there something that you think that individuals your age should know about?

When it comes to an older audience you want to know what problems that may be facing them. Look at different types of satire for older audiences and maybe looking at things that could create nostalgia.

If you know your audience you can create a community that will continue to grow if you focus on the both your needs as well as what your audience needs. Before you record anything, ask yourself what am I trying to say or do? Am I contributing to something important or is this just supposed to be fun for the audience.

Please stay for more ways to be successful I will continue to do research and get back to you guys in the next couple blogs.

bottom of page